Beijiang Museum

Beijiang Museum is one of the few comprehensive museum in China, involving zoology, botany, geology, paleontology, paleoanthropology and many other subjects. It has a collection of 400,000 specimens, ranking first among similar museums in China and occupying an important position in the world.

Beijiang Museum and the predecessor of Hebei University---Tianjin Technology and Business University share the same root in the history; both of them were founded by Xianxian county Catholic church, the Southeast parish of Zhili. It was built in 1922, locating on the campus of Tianjin Technology and Business University. As a special scientific investigation and research institution, the Museum had provided great convenience for the teaching and research of the University. By the end of the 1930s, the Museum was gradually under the direct management of the university.

The first director of the Museum was Dr. Emile Licen, a Frenchman who spent 25 years working with fieldwork and archaeological investigations in China and he made outstanding contributions to China’s scientific research and the construction of the Museum.

Another great scientist of the Museum is Pierre Teilhard de Chardin. He was the first to discover human fossils in China and identified the skull of “Peking man” as the skull of ape-man and he was the founder and guide of ancient vertebrate zoology in China.